Önkéntes Teaház - The Volunteer Teahouse

2019.02.06

With the beginning of the New Year my own little project here in Hungary has finally started - a weekly meeting point for people of the surrounding area who want to speak English.

An English speaking game about the Hungarian culture and history.
An English speaking game about the Hungarian culture and history.

With the beginning of the New Year, my own little project here in Hungary has finally started - the Önkéntes Teaház, which simply translates to "Volunteer Teahouse".

I spoke to many people during my time here, especially youngsters, and heard from lots of them that they miss opportunities to practice their English - because everyone around them usually speaks Hungarian.

And to get into some of the better universities you need to have a certain level of English and require a certificate about your level.

That was the reason why I got the idea to create a place for the local community where they can meet to speak English - to make them believe more strongly in their own abilities and polish their English in general. Because communicating with me in Hungarian is still a pain.

So, every Tuesday I now meet up with my little English Group here in Vereb, where we drink tea and talk about everything and nothing, play games or get a presentation of one of the hobbies of the participants, everything in English.

We are only around 10 people right now (of course I hope there will be more, in time), but 10 is already more than I expected for the beginning - and there actually are a few people I hadn't met before in Vereb!

I hope the Teahouse will establish itself a little more over the next few months and will keep its place in the village even after my return to Germany.

© 2017 Szivárvány Törzs Közhasznú Egyesület 8096 Sukoró Újhegyi út 22.
Az oldalt a Webnode működteti
Készítsd el weboldaladat ingyen! Ez a weboldal a Webnode segítségével készült. Készítsd el a sajátodat ingyenesen még ma! Kezdd el